The governors play a crucial role in providing strategic direction for Little Common School whilst challenging and supporting school leaders in equal measure.

We are dedicated to continual school improvement and to our school vision ...

Learning, Caring, Succeeding... Together. 

We welcome feedback from parents. Please contact us by emailing and put Clerk in the subject line. 

Please click here for governor information:

Details of Little Common School's governing body structure, governors' terms of office and committee membership

Details of Governor's Attendance at Meetings

Details of Governor's Declarations of Interest

The above information can also be seen at the bottom of this page within the final governor tab.

Instrument of government 

Governor nomination form

Governor eligibility form to be completed with nomination form

NGA code of conduct

Nick Wilkinson - Chair of Governors - Co-opted Governor


Nick has over 30 years of partnership experience, which includes chair of many strategic partnership boards.  

Richard Errington - Vice Chair - Co-opted Governor

Richard works in London in the IT Division of a major UK Bank and specialises in the delivery of major change programmes. He has 2 children at the school.

Richard sits on the Strategic Organisation Committee and is the link governor for Finance.


Linda Appleby - Headteacher and Governor

As the Headteacher of Little Common School, Linda is also a School governor. She joined the school as Headteacher in September 2010 and was previously Headteacher of Alfriston School for five years.

Linda works very closely with the governors who offer her support and challenge in order to ensure that we attain our school vision of ‘Learning, Caring, Succeeding…together’.


Wendy Gorham - Co-opted Governor

Wendy is a former secondary school teacher and now works for East Sussex County Council.  Her role focuses on employability skills and career opportunities for young people within the Hastings area.  She lives in the Little Common and has a child who was a pupil at the school.  Wendy sits on the Strategic Organisation Committee.  Wendy is the link governor for careers.



Marsh Golding - Co-opted Governor

Marsh took early retirement as an Education Welfare Officer in a large outer London authority seven years ago before moving to Sussex. She has worked in the field of education for thirty two years and as a EWO for twenty six years. Having considerable experience in school governance, Marsh has supported both secondary and primary schools both as a parent and community governor.  Marsh is very involved in Little Common School as both a volunteer and community governor. Marsh sits on the Quality of Education Committee and is link governor for children with Special Educational Needs and Disabilities (SEND).

Recently, Marsh has been involved in appointing new staff and has used her extensive knowledge of education to support the school through a recent Ofsted inspection.


Nicola Rand - Local Authority Governor

Nicola worked at Filsham Valley Secondary School (later to become St Leonards Academy) for their SEN/ASD department for many years before taking early retirement in 2011. She supported students with accessing the National Curriculum whilst helping them achieve their full potential.  Her role also included managing a large team of Teaching Assistants.  She was previously a staff Governor at Filsham Valley where she was Chair of the SEN/Pupil Welfare sub-committee.
Nicola has 2 grown up children and has become more involved with Little Common School.  Nicola sits on the Quality of Education Committee and is pleased to be able to offer the school the benefit of her experience and skills and acts as link Governor for children with Special Educational Needs and Disabilities (SEND, including pupil premium).


Jessie Francis - Staff Governor

Jessie has worked at Little Common School since 2009. She started in Afterschool and Holiday Club and then became a Teaching Assistant. She is currently working as one of our Higher Level Teaching Assistants. Jessie sits on the Quality of Education Committee.



Victoria Bevis - Co-opted Governor

Victoria is a solicitor working for a specialist employment law firm in the Brighton area advising a range of clients from schools and colleges to an array of organisations including a number of major airlines. She has previously been involved with the Little Common School PTA, acting as Vice Chair for a year. Victoria currently has one child at the school. Victoria sits on and chairs the Quality of Education Committee. 


James Hooper - Co-opted Governor

James has worked in education since 2011 and has expertise in strategic finance and operations.

He started his career working in corporate banking at HSBC, before moving into various project management roles in the private and public sector, which led to him overseeing the build of a new primary school in Southampton, where he became Business Manager.

Moving to Sussex in 2014 he was our Business Manager at Little Common for 3 years, leaving in 2017 to become Head of Projects and Communication at STEP Academy Trust, where he continues to work, now as Director of Operations.

James joined our governing body in 2017 and sits on the Strategic Organisation Committee.

David Coley - Parent Governor

David works for a school resource provider and travels across the UK visiting different schools.  David lives in Bexhill with his family of which one child currently attends the school.

David joined the governing body in 2019 and sits on the Quality of Education Committee.


Governor Information on terms of office

                                        Committee                  Type                               End of term

Linda Appleby SOC/QEC Staff N/A
Nick Wilkinson (Chair) SOC Co-opted 12/11/2022
James Hooper (Vice chair) SOC/HTPM Co-opted 19/08/2025
Nickie Rand QEC/PAY LEA 03/01/2025
Jessie Francis QEC Staff 12/11/2022
Marchele Golding QEC/PAY/HTPM Co-opted 12/11/2022
Wendy Gorham SOC Co-opted 12/11/2022
Richard Errington SOC/HTPM Co-opted 29/06/2024
Victoria Bevis QEC Co-opted 29/06/2024
David Coley QEC Parent 20/11/2023

 We have vacancies for 2 parent and 1 Co-opted governor.

Declarations of interest


Linda Appleby (Headteacher) None
Nick Wilkinson (Chair) Child in school
James Hooper (Vice Chair) Member of Executive Team at Step Academy Trust
Nickie Rand None
Jessie Francis Related to a member of staff and is the director for a local electrical contractors
Marchele Golding None
Wendy Gorham Works for ESCC children and economies services
Richard Errington None
Victoria Bevis Child in school
David Coley Child in school

Meeting attendance register 2020/21

                                                   Committee                  Full governor                    Total

Nick Wilkinson 100% 100% 100%
Linda Appleby 100% 100% 100%
Victoria Bevis 100% 75% 86%
Richard Errington 67% 75% 86%
James Hooper 100% 75% 86%
Marchele Golding 33% 75% 57%
Nickie Rand 100% 100% 100%
Jessie Francis 100% 100% 100%
Wendy Gorham 100% 100% 100%
Dave Coley 66% 75% 71%

There are a different number of meetings for each committee which reflects in the % of attendance.